Blogs:

Newsarama Blogs Home > Article: Wizard website is viral. In the wrong way.

Wizard website is viral. In the wrong way.

November 20th, 2007
Author Graeme McMillan

Admit it; you’ve always thought that Wizard was bad for comics. But did you know that it’s bad for your computer, as well?

“AVG detects a virus everytime I go to the Wizard site today. Just giving a heads up to those who haven’t visited the site yet.”

“I too just got an error from mine. Virus detected on Wizarduniverse.com”

“The site said I needed a chinese language pack for some reason when I was on there earlier today.”

“It may not be a virus, perhaps the site is coded ina away it ehibits ‘virus like’ activity that triggers your AV proggy. Similar to the way steam from a shower could trigger older model smoke detectors.”

“Could be, but they need to fix that, who really wants to go there and take the chance? Besides I’ve been there before and it never triggered it, shouldn’t it do it everytime? Not just every now and then for a week or so?”

“I got something on my home pc last weekend, My AV picked it up. The only site I looked at, beyond here and the BBC News website, was Wizard’s…”

Consider this a warning.

7 Responses to “Wizard website is viral. In the wrong way.”
  1. Jaap! Says:

    Pretty low blow to take out the competition, Blog-o-rama.

  2. Jaap! Says:

    I forgot the smilie, the above needs a ;)

  3. Seddonism Says:

    I noticed this too. I think it’s got something to do with their current banner advert. Pretty poor show - you don’t want to visit a normal everyday website and end up with what your virus checker tells you is a virus.

  4. Marty Graw Says:

    I’ve been bumping into this on Wizard as well. It may not be a virus, but it sets off all the warning signs of one.

  5. Matthew Craig Says:

    Something similar happened to me at CBR, once. There’s probably some…thing in an advert, reporting back to a marketing database.

    Naughty!

    //\Oo/\\

  6. JP Says:

    Slashdot and Wired wrote about this in just the last week. While I can’t see the problem right now, it would seem likely that the ads are the culprit.

  7. Chris Mosby Says:

    This is defintely looks suspicious, its trying to load a javascript from 208.122.2.22 which resolves out to http://voxel.net/ a media hosting company. This is exactly why i use Firefox with NoScript, to protect myself with stuff like this. I submitted the info to the guys at the Internet Storm Center, they will figure out what is up.

Leave a Reply »